Questioning the „male“ and „female“ ear

Anschließend an eine Diskussion in meinem künstlerischen Umfeld habe ich mir vor Kurzem Gedanken gemacht, ob analog zu Lacans Figur des „male gaze“ auch ein „male/female ear“ denkbar ist. Diese Figur geistert bereits seit einer Weile durch das kulturwissenschaftliche Denken, wurde bisher aber nicht systematisch erfasst. Mein Statement ist hier auf meiner Seite unter „Texte“ zu finden. Statt einer echten Aufarbeitung ist es eher eine Art Mindmap oder als Denkansatz zu verstehen, wie und ob eine Annäherung an dieses Thema möglich ist. Vielleicht gibt es Anlass zu weiterer Beschäftigung mit diesem Phänomen.

The relation between ear and eye is dominant in shaping our experience of the world. The seeing has long had the connotation of being the dominant sense, the sense of ratio and reason, while the ear was said to be the door of the soul, the emotions, the subconscious. What science has done for a great deal of its history is to identify, discriminate and describe separated phenomena, thus employing an inherently visualizing strategy. Describing the male and female ear in regard to gender studies would not only mean to analyze this phenomenon, but to question also how and if we can at all employ the conventional ways of speaking, describing, of producing „visualized“ knowledge in regard to a phenomenon that seems to call for a very different practice.

